echobasics
start | news | search | author | impressum

Echocardiography 5 minutes before starting  



Echocardiographic examinations

—Echocardiographic examinations

Transthoracic examination
TEE - views
Stress echocardiography
Contrast echocardiography
Cardiac asynchrony
Strain Imaging
3D | 4D echo
Indications for echocardiography
Training in echocardiography


—Cardiac function and PA pressure

—Examples of pathological
findings




Transthoracic examination


Standard measurements | Normal values


Two-dimensional views

Parasternal long axis: place the transducer approximately on the 3rd intercostal space left parasternal. The transducer's index mark is directed towards the patient's right shoulder. The right (RV) and the left ventricle (LV), as well as the aortic bulb (Ao) and the left atrium (LA) can be displayed.

Parasternal short axis (apical level): turn the transducer 90° clockwise from the previous position and tilt it a little bit upwards and to the left. Sometimes is will be necessary to place it one intercostal space deeper. The apex of the left (LV) and right (RV) ventricles can be displayed.

Parasternal short axis (papil- lary muscle level): from the former position tilt the transducer some downwards and to the right. The left ventricle (LV) at the level of the papillary muscles and the right ventricle (RV) can be displayed.

Parasternal short axis (mitral valve level): further tilt the transducer a little from the same position down to the right. A cross section of the left ventricle (LV) at the level of the mitral valve and the right ventricle (RV) can be displayed.

Parasternal short axis (aortic valve level): tilt transducer a little more from the same position down to the right. The aortic valve (AV), the pulmonary valve (PV), the left atrium (LA) and the right atrium (RA), as well as the tricuspid valve (TV) and the right ventricular outflow track (RVOT) can be displayed.

Apical four-chamber view: place transducer on the 5th intercostal space, aprox. left midclavicular. The transducer's index mark is directed towards the patient's left side. The left (LV) and the right ventricle (RV), as well as the left (LA) and the right atrium (RA) can be displayed.

Apical two-chamber view: turn the transducer aprox. 60° counterclockwise from the previous position. The left ventricle (LV) and the left atrium (LA) can be displayed.

Apical three-chamber view: turn the transducer further, aprox. 60° counterclockwise from the previous position and side tilt slightly. The left ventricle (LV), the left atrium (LA) and the aortic bulb (Ao) can be displayed.

Apical five-chamber view: show a four-chamber view and then tilt the transducer slightly down. The aortic valve (AV) can be seen in the middle, between chambers. Tilting the transducer to the opposite direction, the coronary sinus can be displayed.

Subcostal view: place the transducer on the subxyphoid region. The transducer's index mark is directed towards the patient's head. The inferior vena cava (VCI) can be displayed. Turn the transducer clockwise slightly to diplay the right and left ventricle, as well as the right (RA) and left atrium.

Subcostal four-chamber view: turn the transducer aprox. 45° clockwise from the previous po- sition and tilt some. The liver (L), apex of the left (LV) and right (RV) ventricles, as well as the left (LA) and right (RA) atrium can be displayed.

Suprasternal view: place the transducer on the suprasternal region. The transducer's index mark is directed towards the patient's head and turned aprox. 45° to the right. The aortic arch (*), the neck arteries (TB, CL, SL) and the right pulmonary artery (RPA) as well as the left atrium (LA) can be displayed.



[top]



Standard measurements - parasternal view


(1) Aortic bulb

(2) Left atrium

(3) Interventricular septum

(4) LV-EDD (end diastolic
diameter, LV)

(5) Posterior wall

(6) LV-ESD (end systolic
diameter, LV)



Measurements must always be done perpendicular to the main axis of a vessel, a chamber or atria. The aortic bulb should be measured at the beginning, the left atrium at the end of the ventricular systole. Perpendicular "cuts" from the parasternal view in adults are often not possible, short axis can be taken instead for a better orientation. A global impression from all views is necessary in order to avoid under- or overestimation of dimensions. Therefore, traditional measurements with M-Mode from parasternal can not be recommended anymore.



[top]



Normal values




The American Society of Echocardiography has published new recommendations for chamber quantification. This document can be downloaded directly from the ASE: Recommendations for Chamber Quantification, 2005.


Prosthetic valves - normal values

Velocities depend not only from the diameter and type of the prosthesis, but also from the degree of hyperdynamia (pregnant women, hyperthyoidism, anemia), significant prosthetic valve regurgitation, and the "too-small-to-fit" phenomenon, caused by too small prosthetic valves for the native anatomic architecture.

For more information on prosthetic valves see: Recommendations for evaluation of prosthetic valves with echocardiography and Doppler ultrasound, 2009.





Maximal velocity (Vmax) in m/s, peak pressure gradient (PPG) and mean pressure gradient (MPG) in mmHg. AVP = prosthetic aortic valve, MVP = prosthetic mitral valve.



[top]

echobasics
start | news | suche | verfasser | impressum

Echokardiographie 5 Minuten vor dem Start  



Echokardiographische Untersuchungen

—Echokardiographische Untersuchungen

Transthorakale Untersuchung
TEE - Anlotungen
Stress-Echokardiographie
Kontrast-Echokardiographie
Kardiale Asynchronie
Strain Imaging
3D | 4D-Echo
Indikationen zur Echokardiographie
Training in der Echokardiographie


—Kardiale Funktion und PA-Druck

—Beispiele pathologischer
Befunde




Transthorakale Untersuchung


Standardmessungen | Normwerte


Anlotungen

Parasternal lange Achse: Auf- setzen des Schallkopfes in etwa auf Höhe des 3. Interkostalraums links parasternal. Die Schallkopf- markierung zeigt zur rechten Patientenschulter. Dargestellt werden der rechte (RV) und linke Ventrikel (LV), die Aortenwurzel (Ao) und der linke Vorhof (LA).

Parasternal kurze Achse (apikale Ebene): Drehung des Schallkopfes aus der vorherigen Anlotung um 90° im Uhrzeiger- sinn. Schallkopf nach oben links kippen. Gelegentlich ist es notwendig, diese Anlotung einen Intercostalraum tiefer anzu- streben. Dargestellt werden der Apex des linken (LV) und des rechten Ventrikels (RV) im Querschnitt.

Parasternal kurze Achse (Pa- pillarmuskelebene): Beibehal- tung der vorbeschriebenen Posi- tion (ggf. wieder den ursprüng- lichen Intercostalraum höher), Schallkopf gering nach unten rechts kippen. Dargestellt werden der linke Ventrikel (LV) im Querschnitt auf Höhe der Papillarmuskeln und der rechte Ventrikel (RV).

Parasternal kurze Achse (Mi- tralklappenebene): Beibehal- tung der vorbeschriebenen Posi- tion, Schallkopf gering nach untern rechts weiter kippen. Dargestellt werden der linke Ventrikel (LV) im Querschnitt auf Höhe der Mitralklappe und der rechte Ventrikel (RV).

Parasternal kurze Achse (Aor- tenklappenebene): Beibehal- tung der vorbeschriebenen Posi- tion, Schallkopf nach unten rechts weiter kippen. Dargestellt werden die Aortenklappe (AV), die Pulmonalklappe (PV), der linke (LA) und der rechte Vorhof (RA), die Trikuspidalklappe (TV), sowie der rechtsventrikuläre Ausflusstrakt (RVOT).

Apikal Vierkammerblick: Auf- setzen des Schallkopfes im Bereich des Herzspitzenstoßes, etwa im 5. Interkostalraum in der Medioclavicular- bzw. bis zur vorderen Axillarlinie. Die Schall- kopfmarkierung zeigt nach unten, zur linken Patientenseite. Dargestellt werden der linke (LV) und rechte Ventrikel (RV), sowie der linke (LA) und rechte Vorhof (RA).

Apikal Zweikammerblick: Dre- hung des Schallkopfes aus der vorherigen Anlotung um ca. 60° entgegen dem Uhrzeigersinn. Dargestellt werden der linke Ventrikel (LV) und der linke Vorhof (LA).

Apikal Dreikammerblick (RAO- Äquivalent): Weiterdrehung des Schallkopfes aus der vorherigen Anlotung um ca. 60° entgegen dem Uhrzeigersinn und leichtes seitliches Kippen. Dargestellt werden der linke Ventrikel (LV), der linke Vorhof (LA) und die Aortenwurzel (Ao).

Apikal Fünfkammerblick: Anlo- tung wie bei Vierkammerblick und dann leichtes Kippen des Schallkopfes nach unten. Die Aortenklappe (AV) kommt zum Vorschein. Das Kippen des Schallkopfes in die Gegen- richtung stellt den Koronarsinus dar.

Subcostal: Schallkopf im sub- xyphoidalen Bereich. Die Schall- kopfmarkierung zeigt in Richtung Kopf des Patienten. Dargestellt wird hauptsächlich die Vena cava inferior (VCI). Mit einer leichten Schallkopfdrehung im Uhrzeiger- sinn können der rechte und linke Ventrikel, sowie der rechte (RA) und linke Vorhof dargestellt werden.

Subcostal Vierkammerblick: Drehung des Schallkopfes aus der vorherigen Anlotung um 45° im Uhrzeigersinn und kleine Neigung. Dargestellt werden die Leber (L), der linke (LV) und der rechte Ventrikel (RV), sowie der linke (LA) und der rechte (RA) Vorhof.

Suprasternal: Schallkopf im suprasternalen Bereich. Die Schallkopfmarkierung zeigt Rich- tung Kopf des Patienten mit einer ca. 45° Drehung nach rechts. Dargestellt werden der Aortenbogen (*), die Halsarterien (TB, CL, SL) und teilweise auch die Lungenarterien (RPA) und der linke Vorhof (LA).



[oben]



Standardmessungen - parasternale Anlotung


(1) Aortenwurzel

(2) Linker Vorhof

(3) Ventrikelseptum

(4) LV-EDD (Enddiastolischer
Diameter)

(5) Hinterwand

(6) LV-ESD (Endsystolischer
Diameter)



Messungen immer senkrecht zur Hauptachse des Gefäßes, der Kammer oder des Vorhofs durchführen. Die Aortenwurzel wird standardmäßig am Anfang, der linke Vorhof am Ende der Systole gemessen. Senkrechte Anlotungen von parasternal sind bei erwachsenen Menschen häufig nicht möglich, zur besseren Orientierung kann die kurze Achse anstatt der parasternalen langen Achse genommen werden. Eine globale Einschätzung des Herzens aus allen Anlotungen ist notwendig, um Überschätzungen bzw. Unterschätzungen der Dimensionen zu vermeiden. Die traditionellen M-Mode-Messungen von parasternal sind aus dem oben genannten Gründen nicht mehr zu empfehlen.




Normwerte



Werte sind in der Empfehlung zur Quantifizierung der Herzkammern der American Society of Echocardiography zu finden. Siehe: Recommendations for Chamber Quantification, 2005.
Update 2015.


Klappenprothesen - Normwerte

Geschwindigkeiten sind nicht nur vom Durchmesser der Klappenprothesen und Prothesentyp abhängig, sondern auch vom Grad der Hyperdynamie (Schwangere Frauen, Hypertyroidismus, körperliche Belastung, Anämie), Vorhandensein einer signifikanten Protheseninsuffizienz und das sogenannte "too-small-to-fit" Phänomen, eine zu klein gewählte Klappe für die vorhandene anatomische Architektur.

Empfehlung zur Beurteilung der Klappenprothesen mittels 2D- und Dopplerechokardiographie der American Society of Echocardiography (siehe: Recommendations for evaluation of prosthetic valves with echocardiography and Doppler ultrasound, 2009).





Maximale Geschwindigkeit (Vmax) in m/s, Peak-Pressure-Gradient (PPG) und Mean-Pressure-Gradient (MPG) in mmHg. Bileaflet = Doppelflügelprothese, Tilting disk = Kippscheibenprothese, Bio-stented = Bioprothese mit Stent, Caged ball = Käfigkugelprothese, AVP = Prothesen in Aortenposition, MVP = Prothesen in Mitralposition.



[oben]